Dec. 19, 2023

HARRISBURG – Reps. Torren Ecker (R-Adams/Cumberland) and Rich Irvin (R-Franklin/Huntington) announced that the Cumberland-Franklin Joint Municipal Authority received $423,700 through the Commonwealth Financing Authority’s Small Water and Sewer (SWS) Program to upgrade its wastewater management system.

“Infrastructure improvement is a key ingredient for economic development and this funding will provide assistance with completing a much-needed sewer improvement project,” Ecker said.

The funding will be used to upgrade four pumping stations and install three flow meters in the authority’s wastewater treatment collection system located in Shippensburg Township, Franklin County, and Shippensburg Borough, Cumberland and Franklin counties.

“This is a vital project that will greatly improve sewer infrastructure in the Shippensburg area,” said Irvin. “I was pleased to advocate for the funding along with Rep. Ecker. This is the type of project the SWS program was designed to fund.”

The SWS Program provides grants for small water, sewer and storm water infrastructure projects. Municipalities and municipal authorities that own and maintain a public water supply, sanitary sewer or storm water system are eligible to apply.

Representative Torren Ecker
193rd Legislative District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Media Contact: Greg Gross
717.260.6374 /